It’s hot and I just want to sit in the garden all day and drink iced coffee. I had so much work I wanted to do yesterday – mostly trying to get ahead on a few recipe posts because the kids are off school next week. In the end, I managed about 5% of what I set out to do. If it was freelance work, with a deadline agreed with someone else, it would be a different story, but when I’ve got myself to answer too? Yeah, that sunny garden called to me all day.

And we’ve actually got a garden now! After all the house extension work, the garden was just a bit of a muddy, overgrown mess. We finally managed to get rid of the big shed and other stuff that was taking up garden space, then this week was spent digging and levelling. The grass went down yesterday and the transformation is wonderful! Chris was off work yesterday too (which doesn’t help when I’m trying to motivate myself to work in the office). So I bunked off and we went to the garden centre to pick up plants and a cute little water feature.

I also spotted some gorgeous blue flower pot bases/saucers that I thought would make good plates for food photos (ALWAYS on the lookout for photo props!). The day ended with a couple of cocktails (made with barbecued peach and whisky yum!) and a last minute BBQ. Totally perfect! Except I’m now waaaay behind on everything! Fortunately I had this recipe photographed and pretty much ready to go. An updated version of my dough balls, this one has bacon and spinach with two layers of warm, fluffy dough balls.

Perfect for sharing (just add a salad and plonk this in the middle of the table for everyone to share for dinner), it makes a great party appetiser or BBQ side dish.

The Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip Recipe:

Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 3Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 49Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 99Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 1Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 78Dough Balls with Creamy Spinach and Bacon Dip - 36