Who’d have thought that halloumi and peach would pair so well. The soft sweet juiciness of summer-ripe peaches is one of my favourite fruits. I remember holidaying in Turkey about 7 years ago and the local market sold the biggest peaches I’d ever seen. Bigger than a baseball! They we just the most luscious things ever, and we had them for breakfast most days. In fact I think that’s where I got the idea for my cream cheese, honey and nectarine toastie. Back home I have to settle for the smaller versions, but I’ll only ever buy the really juicy ripe ones (unless I’m cooking a peach tart, where you can fake the ripeness!) I love the fact that this salad is a little bit different. Absolutely bags of flavour with lots of different tastes that work together in a filling and satisfying salad. You can use a little shop-bought pesto if you prefer not to make it yourself (or how about my chilli and walnut pesto!). You could also griddle the peaches too if you like. The halloumi, peach, courgette and asparagus can also be cooked on the BBQ if, like us, you have your BBQ out whenever you can. The courgette burns quickly though, so be sure keep a really close eye on it. I first made this recipe for Superfood magazine. Check it out for lots of yummy, healthy meals!

The Griddled Halloumi and Peach Salad with Homemade Lemon Pesto Recipe:

 

Griddled Halloumi and Peach Salad with Homemade Lemon Pesto - 57Griddled Halloumi and Peach Salad with Homemade Lemon Pesto - 7Griddled Halloumi and Peach Salad with Homemade Lemon Pesto - 67Griddled Halloumi and Peach Salad with Homemade Lemon Pesto - 22