Every once in a while I see a recipe in a magazine at the doctor’s office or in the reception room of my work and tear it out with all good intention of making it at home. For the most part though I either lose the recipe, or it gets forgotten, or accidentally throw away. However, while perusing a magazine I came across a recipe for a pear and maple pie. Inspired, I called Elise right away and made plans with her to make this pie. With an appointment set, I knew this recipe wouldn’t get away. My oh my, this is good pie! Sweet from the fresh pears and the maple syrup, it’s balanced by the snap from the candied ginger which helps give the pie a clear voice. The crumbly oatmeal topping is reminiscent of granola and provides a nice textural tête-à-tête with the fruit and crust. A wonderfully Autumn appropriate pear pie that’s a welcome change from apple! After 30 minutes, line the edges of the pie with foil or a pie protector to prevent them from burning.