I nominate my Minnesota-raised father as the honorary chairman of that club. All I have to do is mention the words sausage and sauerkraut, and it doesn’t seem to matter what else is involved. He’s all over it. In this case, when I mentioned we were grilling polish sausages and then simmering them in beer with sauerkraut and onions, he couldn’t get here fast enough.

Polish Sausage with Sauerkraut, A Summer Standby

Sauerkraut and sausage are great summer grilling party food because you can keep those polish sausages simmering for a couple of hours on the grill, ensuring you have hot food ready throughout the party. From what I understand, this dish is a summer standby in Wisconsin and Minnesota. Dad thinks it’s pretty common in Nebraska too. I’m just happy it made its way to Northern California. My patio, to be specific. Enjoy! Or, you can cut the onions in halves or quarters and grill them that way. Then slice them and add them to the beer. Serve as is in a bowl or on a plate, or in a sandwich roll. Serve with mustard on the side.